Home  Contact  FAQ

Home > Modules > ICDL Syllabus


ICDL Syllabus

The ICDL Syllabus is unique, being entirely vendor-independent and regularly updated to reflect recent technological advances. The quality and relevance of the Syllabus documents is guaranteed by the ECDL Foundation development processes and by an outstanding range of expert input from the world's leading computer societies and Independent subject matter experts.

ICDL is a test of practical skills and competencies and consists of seven separate modules covering computer theory and practice. To achieve an ICDL certification, the Candidate must successfully pass a test in all seven modules. Through this modular structure, the ICDL provides a flexible learning approach.

ICDL Module 1 is a theoretical test of computing knowledge at a general level and modules 2-7 are practical skills tests, as follows:

  • Module 1 - Concepts of Information and Communication Technology (ICT)
  • Module 2 - Using the Computer and Managing Files
  • Module 3 - Word Processing
  • Module 4 - Spreadsheets
  • Module 5 - Using Databases
  • Module 6 - Presentation
  • Module 7 - Web Browsing and Communication
Download ICDL Syllabus 5.0
Documents on this website are provided in PDF Format. You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to display the files on your PC. Please select hereunder icon to download Acrobat Reader. Please note that it is important to download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader, as PDF documents on this site are only viewable in Acrobat versions 5 and later.
Copyright © 2009 Ministry of Communications and Information Technology. All rights reserved.
Developed by CompEx for IT